2015 VPhA Award Recipients

The Virginia Pharmacists Association (VPhA) presented the following awards during the Awards Banquet at the 134th Annual Convention – Williamsburg Lodge – Williamsburg, VA – July 28, 2015.

Leonard Edloe of Mechanicsville, VA – received the Virginia Pharmacists Outstanding Pharmacist Award. The goal of this award is to honor an association member for outstanding and lasting contributions to the profession of pharmacy that will endure for a long period of time. Click here for the press release.

John Beckner of Richmond, VA – received the Bowl of Hygeia Award. This award is sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations with support from Boehringer Ingelheim. This award identifies a pharmacist that has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. Click here for the press release.

Kerri Musselman of Midlothian, VA – received the VPhA Ilene B. Stiff Local Association President’s Award. This award was introduced in 1986, and was re-named in 1990 in memory of Ilene Stiff, a long time VPhA staff member. This award honors the president of the local chapter of the Virginia Pharmacists Association, who exceeds the requirements in the following categories: programming, meeting attendance, membership retention and growth, participation and cooperation in state association activities and a variety of local activities. Click here for the press release.

Kelly Oliver of Palmyra, VA – received the Pharmacists Mutual Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award. This award was established in 1987 to honor pharmacists who have taken on a leadership role in the profession within the first nine years of graduation from pharmacy school. Click here for the press release.

Teresa Graham of Forest, VA– received the Ed D. Spearbeck Virginia Pharmacists Service Award. This award was created in 1992 to honor association members who have made outstanding contributions of time and talent to the pharmacy profession and to the Virginia Pharmacists Association. It was re-named in 2012 in honor of long-time association member Ed Spearbeck who passed away. Click here for the press release.

Karen Nemetz of Richmond, VA – received the VPhA Technician Award which recognizes a pharmacy technician for their contribution to the advancement of the practice of pharmacy in Virginia. Click here for the press release.

Mary Ann Kirkpatrick of Winchester, VA – received the Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award. This award program recognizes excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention at state pharmacy associations. This award honors a pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to raising awareness of the dangers of prescription drug abuse among the general public and among the pharmacy community. Click here for the press release.

James Lamar of Madison, VA – received the Addington Medal for Excellence in Independent Community Pharmacy. Launched in 2013, the Addington Medal Award for Excellence in Independent Community Pharmacy is a featured award at the VPhA Annual Convention presented by the VPhA Foundation Addington Vision Fund. Recipients are selected by the Board of Directors of the VPhA Academy of Independent Pharmacists (VPhA AIP) and must embody two principals of the Addington Vision to be considered. They are: 1) Advance the entrepreneurial spirit for community pharmacy, and 2) Empower community pharmacists with innovations in the practice and business of pharmacy to help them thrive.

Thuy Tran of Glen Allen, VA – received the Harvey B. Morgan Award for Advancing Health Policy. Launched in 2015, the Harvey B. Morgan Award for Advancing Health Policy is a featured award at the VPhA Annual Convention presented by the VPhA Foundation Morgan Institute Fund. This award consists of a check for $1,000, a plaque and a stipend for registration and accommodations for up to $300 to be used for attendance at the VPhA annual convention. Award recipients must have demonstrated exceptional service, activity and commitment in the area of policy development and related activity and have applied their knowledge of pharmacy and policy to provide education and information to citizens, public officials and pharmacy students/professionals.

2015 VPhA Award Recipients (L-R): Kelly Oliver, Kerri Musselman, Teresa Graham, Thuy Tran, Jim Lamar, John Beckner, Karen Nemetz, Mary Ann Kirkpatrick (Not pictured – Leonard Edloe)