2013 VPhA Award Recipients

The Virginia Pharmacists Association (VPhA) presented the following awards during the Awards Banquet at the 132nd Annual Convention – Cavalier Hotel – Virginia Beach, VA – July 30, 2013.

Angela Rich of Kilmarnock, VA – received the VPhA Technician Award which recognizes a pharmacy technician for their contribution to the advancement of the practice of pharmacy in Virginia. Ms. Rich works at the Northern Neck Free Health Clinic as a clinic manager and coordinator of pharmacy volunteers.

Delegate Chris Peace and Delegate John O’Bannon – received the VPhA Award of Merit which recognizes a non-pharmacist individual for their help and assistance to the profession of pharmacy. Delegate Peace was recognized as the patron of budget language in the 2012 session of the Virginia General Assembly, which paves the way for cost-saving Medication Therapy Management health care benefit for state employees. Medication Therapy Management is collaboration between pharmacists, physicians and patients to help ensure that patients are taking their medication correctly. Delegate O’Bannon was recognized for sponsoring HB 1501 in the 2013 Virginia General Assembly session. This bill works to make collaborative practice agreements easier for both physicians and pharmacists and also expands what pharmacists can do under those agreements. These changes will help allow pharmacists to play a more vital role in the chronic care management of patients across the commonwealth and improve patient care.

Sharon Gatewood of Mechanicsville, VA– received the Ed D. Spearbeck Virginia Pharmacists Service Award. This award was created in 1992 to honor association members who have made outstanding contributions of time and talent to the pharmacy profession and to the Virginia Pharmacists Association. It was re-named in 2012 in honor of long-time association member Ed Spearbeck who passed away. Dr. Gatewood has distinguished herself as a strong leader in advancing the profession of pharmacy through practice, education and scholarship and she has been a huge asset in promoting the profession of pharmacy.

Antoinette (Toni) Coe of Richmond, VA – received the Pharmacists Mutual Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award. This award was established in 1987 to honor pharmacists who have taken on a leadership role in the profession within the first nine years of graduation from pharmacy school. Dr. Coe has distinguished herself as a strong leader in advancing the profession of pharmacy through practice, service and education and she has a strong commitment to the pharmacy profession and is dedicated to the concept and advancement of patient care.

Leo Ross of Richmond, VA – received the Bowl of Hygeia Award. This award is sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations with support from Boehringer Ingelheim. This award identifies a pharmacist that has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession. Mr. Ross received this award for his outstanding record of community service and for his work with Crossover Ministry Free Clinic.

Michelle Herbert Thomas of Quinton, VA – received the Upsher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award. Dr. Thomas has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care. She currently practices in a patient centered medical home in New Kent. She has developed and implemented many pharmacist run programs and is currently serving as a consultant for VHQC Quality Improvement Organization to help other practice sites develop quality measures to show CMS the benefit of pharmacists and pharmacy services.

Johnny Moore of Mechanicsville, VA – received the Virginia Pharmacists Outstanding Pharmacist Award. The goal of this award is to honor an association member for outstanding and lasting contributions to the profession of pharmacy that will endure for a long period of time. Mr. Moore is currently the Pharmacy District Manager of Kmart Pharmacy. He has been actively involved with the Virginia Pharmacists Association and has dedicated many hours to helping pharmacists find appropriate treatment for substance abuse.