Grants & Scholarships

Incentive Grants Program

The VPhA Foundation will award $1,000 to $2,500 project grants to provide seed money to help pharmacists explore and implement services that enhance their role as healthcare providers and improve patient outcomes.  Each project must be completed within one to two years.  For more information, please click here.

Henry Addington Vision: Advancing the Entrepreneurial Spirit for Community Pharmacy

Six decades of Henry Addington’s life has been faithfully dedicated to the continuing growth and prosperity of independent community pharmacists as they serve the health needs of their patients and communities. The Addington Vision looks to continue Henry’s life long mission to advance the entrepreneurial spirit for community pharmacy and empower community pharmacists with innovations in the practice and business of pharmacy to enhance the care of their patients. Click here for more information.

John C. Shilan Scholarship: A Bridge to Empower Pharmacists to Enhance Patient Care Outcomes

A memorial scholarship fund has been established in honor and memory of John C. Shilan, PharmD. The scholarship fund will make awards to selected young pharmacists who have demonstrated an interest in added credentials enabling them to provide specialized patient care services based on additional knowledge and skill.  Click here for more information.


The Harvey B. Morgan Institute of Government and Public Service

The VPhA Foundation envisions a better-informed citizenry, including pubic officials and pharmacy professionals, and an enhanced quality of life for all Virginians.  In keeping with this vision, the VPhA Foundation established the Harvey B Morgan Institute of Government and Public Service to provide education and information to citizens, public officials, and pharmacy professionals on topics related to health care, and to honor the legacy of Harvey B. Morgan, legislator and pharmacist who served in the Virginia General Assembly for 32 years until his retirement in 2012.

Reginald Rooke Lecture Series

For over 50 years, R. Reginald Rooke gave time, talent, and money to promote and build the profession of pharmacy in Virginia. The Foundation established the R. Reginald Rooke Lecture Series to honor him and his dedication to the profession. The focus of the Rooke Lecture Series is to enhance and advance the profession of pharmacy and honor the patriarch of Virginia pharmacy, Reggie Rooke. The topic for the annual Rooke Lecture is generally related to pharmacy management. The Rooke Lecture is traditionally held in conjunction with the VPhA Midyear Meeting.

Recent Lecturers:

  • 2019 – Beth Macy
  • 2018 – William A. Hazel Jr. M.D., Former Secretary of Health and Human Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • 2017 – Joe Moose, Pharm.D., Co-Owner Moose Pharmacy & Lead Community Pharmacy Coordinator for Community Care of North Carolina
  • 2016 – Jean Venable “Kelly” Goode, Pharm.D., BCPS, FAFPhA, FCCP
  • 2015 – Daniel Buffington
  • 2014 – Rear Admiral Scott F. Giberson, R.Ph., MPH, Assistant Surgeon General and Chief Pharmacy Officer, U.S. Public Health Service
  • 2013 – Dianne Reynolds-Cain, MD, Director, Virginia Department of Health Professions
  • 2012 – Edith Rosato, R.Ph., IOM, Chief Executive Officer, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
  • 2011 – Joe Harmison, R.Ph., Immediate Past-President, National Community Pharmacists Association, Owner, Apothecary Pharmacy; Medical Village Surgery Center; and Harmison Pharmacies, Dallas-Forth Worth, TX
  • 2010 – Tom Menighan, R.Ph., MBA, FAPhA, Executive Vice President & CEO, American Pharmacists Association
  • 2009 – Tim Tucker, R.Ph., President, American Pharmacists Association, Owner, City Drug Company, Huntingdon, TN
  • 2008 – Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph., Executive Vice President & CEO, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
  • 2007 – John Miall, Jr., President, Miall Consulting.  Former Director of Risk Management & President Asheville Claims Corporation
  • 2006 – Bruce Roberts, R.Ph., Executive Vice President, National Community Pharmacists Association
  • 2005 – Hugh F. Gouldthorpe, Head Cheerleader and VP of Quality & Communications, Owens & Minor
  • 2004 – Phylliss M. Moret, R.Ph., Associate Executive Director & COO, American Society of Consultant Pharmacists
  • 2003 – Richard P. Penna, Pharm.D., Executive Vice President Emeritus, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
  • 2002 – Patrick McHugh, Ph.D.
  • 2001 – Lyle Bootman, Ph.D.
  • 2000 – John Miall, Jr., President, Miall Consulting.  Former Director of Risk Management & President Asheville Claims Corporation